About Us

In order to establish and maintain financial transparency Solid Waste Districts are required to post a report. Click on the link below to access Northwest Indiana Solid Waste District’s SB 131.

SB-131-2012  SB-13-2013 SB-131 2014 SB-131 2015 SB-131 2016  SB-131 2017

As a result of growing landfills in Indiana, the 1991 State Legislature required each county to have a plan to address its solid waste issues. Our six counties (Benton, Carroll, Jasper, Newton, Pulaski and White) joined together to develop a plan, and the District office formed. District services are performed by our two employees, the Board of Directors, and volunteers.

There are a total of 20 Board members representing the six counties in our district. All members are elected officials who facilitate all District business, determine what programs are funded, and govern District services and projects.

The Citizens’ Advisory Committee (CAC) is comprised of appointed volunteers who provide expertise, plan, and help to implement various projects. The members are the “cogs” that make the programs succeed. They serve in a variety of ways including commenting on the budget, waste management issues, diversion programs, and assisting with education and events.

Citizens Advisory Committee Members

  • Benton County:Penny Jessie & Liz Fisher
  • Carroll County: Kirstin Whan & Carl Seese
  • Jasper County: Andy Daniels & Heather Hall
  • Newton County: Marueen Inman
  • Pulaski County: Brad Bonnell, & Jeff Linback
  • White County: Dawn Girard

Board Members

  • Benton County: Bruce Buchanan,  Steve Cox, Linda Brouillette, Sec.
  • Carroll County: Carol Clawson, John Brown, Mike Schockley
  • Jasper County: Kendall Culp, Rein Bontreger, Ernest Watson
  • Newton County: Mickey Read, Timothy Drenth, Dave Smart, Chairman, Tim Lohr, Vice Chairman
  • Pulaski County: Ken Becker,  Mike Tiede, Melanie Berger
  • White County: Butch Kramer, David Diener, Steve Burton, Tim McQuinn